MCS News

Posted on Saturday, June 8, 2019
Manhattan Country School’s Junior Varsity track team competed in the Championship match on Monday, June 3. In an impressive showing, MCS student-athletes received medals in every event.  Boys 4x200 Relay - GOLD  Girls 4x200 Relay - GOLD  BOYS 400 - BRONZE  GIRLS 400 - BRONZE  BOYS 100 - BRONZE  GIRLS 100 - GOLD & BRONZE  BOYS 800 - BRONZE  GIRLS 800 - SILVER  BOYS 200 - GOLD & SILVER  GIRLS 200 - GOLD  BOYS 4X100 - GOLD  GIRLS 4X100 - GOLD  Congratulations JV Track!
Posted on Saturday, June 8, 2019
The Important Thing about Margaret Wise Brown by Mac Barnett, illus. by Sarah Jacoby - An exceptional picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and other beloved children’s classics, that's as groundbreaking as the icon herself was—from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Jacoby. What is important about Margaret Wise Brown? In forty-two inspired pages, this biography artfully plays with... Read More
Posted on Saturday, June 8, 2019
The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake - Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel--perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly. When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan": 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the... Read More
Posted on Saturday, June 8, 2019
Lost Children Archive: A Novel by Valeria Luiselli - A family treks south to the U.S.–Mexico border, bearing tales of broken migrant families all the way down. This remarkable, inventive fictional take on this issue captures the anguish of those families through a deliberate piling-up of stories; reading it, you feel yourself slowly coming face to face with a world where masses of children are separated, missing, or dead of exposure in the desert. Luiselli eases into the tale by introducing an... Read More
Posted on Saturday, June 8, 2019
This year’s the activism committee, made up of seventh and eighth grade students, decided after several debates and a voting process to focus on habitat destruction. After initial investigations into ways our fossil fuel-based economy destroys habitats, including plastics and pipelines, discussions turned to the term “Green New Deal." The students saw this proposal as being inclusive enough to contain many sub-topics, as a solution that addresses the needs of diverse people, and being pushed... Read More
Posted on Saturday, May 25, 2019
Manhattan Country School’s Technology Teacher Paul Williams was selected by The Academy of Teachers to participate in a master class led by social media expert Sree Sreenivasan. Master classes offer a rare opportunity for public and private school teachers to work together and learn from a leading expert in their field. Teachers selected for Academy for Teachers master classes show passion for their subjects, creativity in their classrooms, and devotion to their students. Paul was one of 18... Read More
Posted on Saturday, May 25, 2019
The high school placement process has many different meanings for MCS students and families. Cynthia Rogers, High School Placement Director, specializes in cultivating relationships with high school admissions directors, maintaining personal contact with MCS alumni in high school and building 1-on-1 relationships with eighth graders who will come to understand what they can expect during their upcoming application processes while staying true to themselves - no matter who they are.  Beginning... Read More
Posted on Saturday, May 25, 2019
City Camp is Manhattan Country School's summer program for MCS students in the 4-5s through 9-10s, including new Lower School students joining the school in the fall. During City Camp, students broaden their MCS experience by being immersed in fun and engaging activities aligned with the school’s mission and values. The 2019 program runs for three weeks, from July 8 to July 26, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Applications for City Camp are available now..  
Posted on Monday, February 11, 2019
Throughout the year, students at MCS have been discussing the 13 Principles of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) Movement. Authored by members of the curriculum committee of Black Lives Matter At School Movement, including our own Laleña Garcia (5-6s Sur head teacher), these principles spell out the tenets of the BLM movement in age-appropriate language for both early elementary and middle school-aged children. During the week of February 4th, our community participated in the national Black Lives... Read More
Posted on Wednesday, February 6, 2019
The Manhattan Country School JV Boys’ and Girls’ basketball teams experienced what it's like to play like the pros! The teams played back-to-back games against City & Country School at the Barclays Center last Tuesday, February 5.  Coach Jermaine Lloyd led both teams to victory. The girls’ team was up first and immediately took the lead. The final score was 20-12.  The boy’s team easily won with a final score of 21-2.  Lots of MCS parents and siblings filled the stands to cheer the teams... Read More

Pages